Log in

4-H recognizes outstanding members, volunteers


JOHNSON COUNTY — Each year Johnson County 4-H takes the opportunity to recognize outstanding 4-H members and volunteers. 

The annual 4-H Recognition Banquet was Oct. 18 at the Johnson County Fairgrounds. 

The following youth were recognized for completion of their Missouri Report Forms: 

Clover Kid 

Gretchen Binder (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), Maxwell Krewson (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), Keira Myers (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), Owen Myers (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), London Russell (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), Elliot Whitehead (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), Carleigh Wilson (Good Neighbors 4-H Club) and Theresa Yates (Good Neighbors 4-H Club). 

Junior Division

Nine-year-old first place Blue Ribbon to Robert Yates (Good Neighbors 4-H Club), second place Blue Ribbon to James Russell (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), third place Red Ribbon Luke Myers (Royal Clovers 4-H Club); 10-year-old first place Blue Ribbon to Mallory Hall (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), second place Blue Ribbon to Kaelyn Counts (Mt. Moriah Hustlers 4-H Club), third place Red Ribbon to Grace Binder (Royal Clovers 4-H Club).

Intermediate Division

First place Blue Ribbon to Addison Counts (Mt. Moriah Hustlers 4-H Club), second place Blue Ribbon to Hayden Starbuck (Good Neighbors 4-H Club), third place Blue Ribbon to Cooper Audsley (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), fourth place Blue Ribbon to Brock Krewson (Royal Clovers 4-H Club), fifth place Red Ribbon to Charles Yates (Good Neighbors 4-H Club). 

Senior Division

First place Blue Ribbon to Zachary Munsterman (Good Neighbors 4-H Club), second place Blue Ribbon to Ryan Munsterman (Good Neighbors 4-H Club), third place Blue Ribbon to Riley Edmunds (Good Neighbors 4-H Club), fourth place Blue Ribbon to Claire Starbuck (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); and fifth place Red Ribbon to Stephen Yates (Good Neighbors 4-H Club). 

Cooper Audsley, Addison Counts, Kaelyn Counts, Riley Edmunds, Ryan Munsterman, James Russell, Claire Starbuck, Hayden Starbuck, and Robert Yate will be representing Johnson County at the regional level for advanced awards. 

The following youth received recognition for serving as a Junior Leader by helping assist an adult leader with a 4-H project: Clark Bicknell, one year (Mineral Creek 4-H Club), Riley Edmunds, four years (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Marlys Kanneman, four years (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Rebekah Papasifakis, four years (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); and Cooper Parsons, 4 years (Mt. Moriah Hustlers 4-H Club). 

Teen Leader 4-H members, primary leadership of a project, recognized were Riley Edmunds, three year (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Kasey Johnson-Atkins, one year (Union Chapel Lions 4-H Club), Marlys Kanneman, four years (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); and Rebekah Papasifakis, four years (Good Neighbors 4-H Club).

Volunteer leaders were recognized for reaching milestones in their years of service. 

Five Years of Service: Pam Callahan (Mt. Moriah Hustlers 4-H Club), Alaina Davis (Mineral Creek 4-H Club), Susan Remington (Chilhowee Indians 4-H Club) and Paul Krewson (Royal Clovers 4-H Club).

Ten Years of Service: Barie Krewson (Royal Clovers 4-H Club) and Linda Moore (Mineral Creek 4-H Club), Cheryl Munsterman (Good Neighbors 4-H Club) and Trisha Shackelford (Royal Clovers 4-H Club).

Fifteen Years of Service: Trina Anstine (Chilhowee Indians 4-H Club).

Twenty Years of Service: Larry Atkins (Small Animal Committee) and Cheryl Zvacek (Livestock Committee).

Thirty-five Years of Service: Laura Atkins (Small Animal Committee). 

The Missouri 4-H Foundation recognizes a volunteer who has gone above and beyond the call of duty for the 4-H program in each of the counties. This year Johnson County selected Clint Cochran. 

Growing up, Clint Cochran was a 4-H member for 9 years, serving his Club for five of those years as an officer. He was very active with his dairy project, showing at the county show each of his nine years and the Missouri State Fair for eight years. 

Clint has continued his involvement with the 4-H and is now completing his 46th year as a 4-H volunteer. He provides his services as a project leader and as Superintendent of the Johnson County 4-H and FFA Youth Dairy Show. He has served on the Johnson County Extension Council and on the Johnson County Dairy Herd Improvement Association Board. 

He says, “I feel 4-H and my project leadership helped me to become a better person and to realize that volunteering to help youth is a rewarding experience.”

Two of the premier awards given out each year are the Friend of 4-H and Outstanding 4-H Family. 

Johnson County 4-H recognized Oldham Auctions, Brody and Emily Oldham of Bates City as the Friends of 4-H. 

This past year, like everyone else, Johnson County 4-H saw many trials due to COVID-19. However, because of the passion and hard work of Brody and Emily Oldham, trials were made much easier. Oldham Auctions has provided its services for the Livestock Auction repeatedly and has even provided an online platform for two annual auctions on behalf of the Johnson County 4-H. 

Johnson County 4-H selected Ann and Rebekah Papasifakis as this year’s Outstanding 4-H Family. Ann and her daughter, Rebekah, have supported the 4-H for a long time. They have donated their time and efforts to see that Johnson County 4-H’ers get the best opportunities they can. 

From leading at the forefront as leaders of their Clubs and the County Council to leading from the back in helping put together a multitude of events at the local level and beyond, the Johnson County 4-H would not be as great as it is today without Ann and Rebekah Papasifakis.

Riley Edmunds (Good Neighbors 4-H Club) was awarded the Danforth “I Dare You” Award, which recognizes young people who have demonstrated integrity, balanced development and a willingness to assume responsibility. It is intended to provide encouragement to potential young leaders — to dare them to take on even more leadership roles and to reach their full potential. 

Cooper Parsons (Mt. Moriah Hustlers 4-H Club) was awarded the Zachary Parsons Memorial 4-H Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 at the Missouri 4-H Foundation’s annual scholarship and awards banquet and was recognized again at the Johnson County 4-H Recognition Banquet.

Following the awards presentations, Dallas Dieckman, University of Missouri Extension 4-H Youth Program Associate, installed the 2022 Johnson County 4-H Officers: President, Rebekah Papasifakis (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Vice President, Macie Remington (Chilhowee Indians 4-H Club); Secretary, Kasey Johnson-Atkins (Union Chapel Lions 4-H Club); Treasurer, Riley Edmunds (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Reporter, Brinlea Rhyne (Good Neighbors 4-H Club); Recreation Leaders, Zoie Davis (Mineral Creek 4-H Club) and Brock Krewson (Royal Clovers 4-H Club); and Adult Advisors, Alaina Davis (Mineral Creek 4-H Club) and Susan Remington (Chilhowee Indians 4-H Club). 

The Recognition Banquet is made possible through the support of several donors: the meal is sponsored by Central Missouri Community Credit Union, F&C Bank, Central Bank and Quarry City Savings & Loan. 

The awards were sponsored by the following donors: Leader and Member Pins – West Central Electric Cooperative; Junior Leader, Teen Leader, and Senior Awards – FCS Financial; Clover Kid, Junior and Intermediate Awards – CFM Insurance, Inc.; and 4-H Ribbons – Johnson County Farm Bureau. 

For more information, contact the University of Missouri Extension in Johnson County at 660-747-3193 or extension.missouri.edu/johnson/4h.aspx. 


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here